People and Permissions

How do permissions work?
You can control each user's access by setting permissions. Minute7 allows many levels of access, so that you can finely tune who can see what within your company.

By default, when you create a new employee user account by clicking on her name on the Account page or by starting from a blank user account, the new user account will only be able to view and edit her own time and expenses. You can optionally give new and existing users permission to manage your account, manage others' time, and manage others' expenses by toggling the permissions levels that Minute7 offers.

Managing the Minute7 Account

Managing your Account
  • Manage Account
    The highest level of access, limited to the account creator (manager). Only the manager can edit company account settings, change billing information, or sync with QuickBooks.

  • Manage Users
    Allows the creation and management of user accounts, settings and permissions. A user with the Manage Users permission can also view, edit, and approve everyone's time and expense entries and manage permissions.

  • Export Time and Expenses
    Permits the user to sync company data with QuickBooks.

  • Create and View Reports
    Permits the user to create and view reports in Minute7 showing all users' time and expense entries.


Managing Time Entries

Managing Time
  • Edit Payroll
    Permits the user to assign payroll items to time entries for QuickBooks employees who use time data to create paychecks. If a user has permission to Edit Payroll, she can add and alter payroll items for all employees and vendors whick she has permission to edit. Read more about using payroll in Minute7.

  • View Time Entries for Others
    A user can view time entries for only him or herself (the default when you create a new user), all employees and vendors, or certain employees and vendors.

    If a user is set to view time for certain employees and vendors, a list of the current active QuickBooks employees and vendors will appear. Check the box next to "view" for each employee and vendor that the Minute7 user in question should be able to see time entries for.

  • Edit Time Entries for Others
    A user can edit time entries for only him or herself (the default when you create a new user), all employees and vendors, or certain employees and vendors.

    If a user is set to edit time for certain employees and vendors, a list of the current active QuickBooks employees and vendors will appear. Check the box next to "edit" for each employee and vendor that the Minute7 user in question should be able to edit time entries for.

  • Approve Time Entries for Others
    A user can approve time entries for no one (the default when you create a new user), only him or herself, all employees and vendors, or certain employees and vendors.

    If a user is set to approve time for certain employees and vendors, a list of the current active QuickBooks employees and vendors will appear. Check the box next to "approve" for each employee and vendor that the Minute7 user in question should be able to approve time entries for.


Managing Expense Entries

Managing Expenses
  • View Expense Entries for Others
    A user can view expense entries for only him or herself (the default when you create a new user), all vendors, or certain vendors.

    If a user is set to view expenses for certain vendors, a list of the current active QuickBooks vendors will appear. Check the box next to "view" for each vendor that the Minute7 user in question should be able to see expense entries for.

  • Edit Expense Entries for Others
    A user can edit expense entries for only him or herself (the default when you create a new user), all vendors, or certain vendors.

    If a user is set to edit expenses for certain vendors, a list of the current active QuickBooks vendors will appear. Check the box next to "edit" for each vendor that the Minute7 user in question should be able to edit expense entries for.

  • Approve Expense Entries for Others
    A user can approve expense entries for no one (the default when you create a new user), only him or herself, all vendors, or certain vendors.

    If a user is set to approve expenses for certain vendors, a list of the current active QuickBooks vendors will appear. Check the box next to "approve" for each vendor that the Minute7 user in question should be able to approve expense entries for.


What happens if I don't associate a user with an employee?
Not all users must be associated with QuickBooks employees or vendors. Usually, a Minute7 user is associated with an employee, so that he or she can easily log his or her own time. However, you can user Minute7's graded permissions system to set up users in many different ways. For example, you may want to set up managing users who themselves don't enter time or expenses, but review time and expenses for other employees and vendors. In that case, you could set up a Minute7 user account with permission to view, edit, and approve all time and expenses, but without a directly associated QuickBooks employee or vendor.
Figure 1
Figure 1: Limiting which Customer:Jobs or Service Items a user can see

Can I limit which of my Customer:Jobs a user can see?
Yes. For any Minute7 user who does not have permission to Manage Users, you may limit which Customers the user can see and add time and expense entries for. In order to specify which Customers a user can see,
  1. Set the option to "Limit this user to certain customers" to "Yes".
  2. In the multiple-select box that opens up, select the Customers you want this user to see. Click on each customer you want to select to move it to the right hand side to include it or left hand side to exclude it.
  3. Click "Save changes" to save the changes you have made, and make sure that the user whose settings you have just altered logs out of any open Minute7 sessions and logs back in before entering time again.
Figure 2
Figure 2: Limiting which Customer:Jobs or Service Items a user can see

Can I limit which of my Service Items a user can see?
Yes. For any Minute7 user who does not have permission to Manage Users, limiting which Service Items the user can see works just like limiting which Customers the user can see. In order to specify which Service Items a user can see,
  1. Set the option to "Limit this user to certain service items" to "Yes".
  2. In the multiple-select box that opens up, select the Service Items you want this user to see. Click on each customer you want to select to move it to the right hand side to include it or left hand side to exclude it.
  3. Click "Save changes" to save the changes you have made, and make sure that the user whose settings you have just altered logs out of any open Minute7 sessions and logs back in before entering time again.
Can I change the permissions of the account manager?
No. The account manager cannot have his or her permissions altered, and will always have access to all aspects of the account.
Why can't I see all of my employees in the drop-down list when I am trying to set up a user account?
If an employee is missing from the drop-down list, it means they're "hidden" in your QuickBooks Timer file. You can change the status of an employee in QuickBooks by selecting them from the Employees list in QuickBooks and unchecking the "Inactive" option.
Can I have users and time entries associated with vendors?
Yes— Minute7 fully supports time entries for vendors and user accounts tied to specific vendors in your QuickBooks company file. To fully enable vendor time-entry support (at no additional charge) simply go to your Account Settings page and choose "Yes" under the Enable time entries for Vendors option.
Figure 3
Figure 3: Associating a user with a Vendor on the user permissions page to track employee expenses

What is an "Associated Vendor for expense tracking in QuickBooks"?
The "Vendor for expense trackiing" drop-down list allows you to select which Vendor the current user is associated with for expense tracking. If the user only has permission to view and edit his or her own expenses, then the user will only be able to enter and track expenses for the Vendor you set as the "Associated Vendor for expense tracking in QuickBooks". If the user can view, edit, and approve expenses for multiple Vendors, you can select a Vendor as the default Vendor for this user in expense tracking, but the user will be able to view and add expenses for the other Vendors as well. Read more about expense tracking.